Is it possible to change egg colour?

Hi there keepers, just a quick post to ask that question really. Can you change, or I should say tint the colour of the eggs, by feeding the hens coloured food? The reason I ask this somewhat strange question is that, I noticed today that manuella’s eggs had a slight pink tinge to them, and it was only two days ago that she stopped eating the party food, which included a cake with very pink (fushia) icing, I’m wondering if this has made her eggs look slightly pink, hardly noticeable really, it was only when I put the eggs in the basket next to the previously layed eggs that I noticed this strange pink tinge.

Has any one had experience of this? or is it some other reason? please let me know via comment here, cheers.

3 Responses

  1. That wouldn’t surprise me – some of the dyes used in frostings are quite potent!!

  2. Yeah, I don’t know for sure either, but it would not surprise me. My kids get weird looking poop if they eat cupcakes or cakes with lots of dyed frosting on top, so why not chicken eggs, too?

  3. Hello,
    We were most fortunate to be able to sample some of the Chicken Keeper’s produce this morning for our breakfast. Most delicious the eggs were too…
    Might I say that the soda bread Mrs Chicken Keeper provided was also a delight for the palate.
    Boonman

Leave a Reply

