Lice and Mites

Hi there chicken keepers, or fans of keeping chickens, today has been de-lousing day for the girls, after the death of poor Nellie, I thought I should give the girls an M.O.T or fitness check, they do have a few lice but nothing major, however just to be on the safe side, I bought some powder to exterminate the little blighters.

Buying the powder was the easy bit, applying to the girls is alot harder, the first patient, (the easiest to catch) was Daisy, the whole process obviously scared her a bit, but I had some warning, a shot across my bow’s, so to speak and I managed to lift her up before she deposited on my lap, next in line was Gloria, again easy to catch, she gets lots of stroking, I think she just thought it was another cuddle with dust this time, after I had finished her, she didn’t want to get off of my lap, Nancy was next, and was alot of trouble, kicking and moaning, it’s what I expected from her, the last to recieve the treatment so far today was Betty, the Wyandotte, and she was a perfect patient, she just lay there while I covered her in strange white powder, as if she was at the hairdressers.

The other three, Renee, Daphne and Manuella were so wary of me by the time had treated the other four, that I think I’ll have to wait til tea time. When their faces willl be down in the trough.

Managed to get Manuella and Daphne last night before bed time, well in thruth I had to pluck Daphne from the coop, poor girl.

Leave a Reply

