A Flaw in my Floor

Hi there reader, well I was thinking that all of the work being carried out in the back yard was upsetting the hens, as we have been down an egg or two each day, not so. As it happens the floor I made, from a single pallet, and hinged the bottom front of the coop to enable me to slide the floor in and out for easy cleaning, however what I didn’t think of, is not all eggs are the same size, and what had occurred was two eggs had infact slipped through the gaps, they can only of been there for 3 days at the most, because we got all the eggs on the previous days, still I gave them the floating test, to be doubly sure, so I think some adjustments will ahve to be made to the floor.

On another subject, is there anyone out there who has suggestions for hen bullying, one of the girls is constantly picked on by the others, mainly one bird ofcourse starts it then the others join in, Nancy is the Boss of the run, and today she had poor Nellie cornered against the fence, pecking at her furiously, which then made Daphne and Gloria join the afray, Nellie was helpless, liked a tired boxer caught it the corner with Mike Tyson bashing ten bells out of you, not very pleasant to watch either i might add, so I picked up a bit of bamboo, and gave Nancy a whack across the arse, she ran into the coop, an didn’t come back out til i’d gone inside, I know it’s nature’s way the pecking order and all that, but are there any ways to reduce it without seperating them?

2 Responses

  1. Hi! This is my first time commenting on your blog 🙂 I have been popping in and out and reading your stuff for several time and just wanted to say hi. . Your site has some cool content indeed . I was searching for a way to subscribe to your blog via email. Could you point me in the right direction?

    • Hi Tony thanks for your comments, I suppose you could describe it as ‘a site dedicated to back garden chicken keeping , with the personal veiws of the keeper, some factual based posts, informative, but also story based, on the personalities of the hens themselves’. I try to mix it up a bit, with the DIY tips and pics, variety is the spice of life.cheers.

Leave a Reply

