Rain Water

Rain Water In the Waitakere's

Hi reader, well my new project is to collect rain water, surprised really that I haven’t been doing it in winter when there was lots and lots of rain, more than usual, broke some records. Well, to excuse the pun, I have found my source of rain water, it’s a guttering pipe that runs off of the carport roof, I had noticed the small gutter on one end of he carport, but it was so over grown with Ivy that I couldn’t see the down pipe.

This very morning I cleared the Ivy and Jasmine away from the downpipe and have for the moment placed the hens water trough under the dripping pipe, it’s a start, all I need do now is aquire a butt, finar finar, as the lady out in Kumeu said ‘ e wants one, doesn’t want to pay for though ‘ , ofcourse she’s half right, I do want one, but I also know there’s one sitting somewhere about to be thrown away.

Today is a good day for collecting  rain  water, as it is lashing down, still need a butt.

I have found a temporary water butt, infact it may turn out to be great, I’ve used an ex/ disused wheelie bin, donated by a friend with too many wheelie bins, it makes it mobile for one, I think i shall place a tap on it, and eventually cut a hole in the lid for a downpipe, at present i just have the lid open with the water dripping in, not the best as leaves and such can fall in too. It’s a start as they say, who ever they are? I find out one day, who they are, and when I do, I’ll let you know their email address.

One Response

  1. Famous chooks – do you remember Colonel and Clara Cluck? Neighbours of the Mouses, Mickey and Minnie. And remember the catchy theme song provided by the unforgettable Robot Chicken? You can make it your mobile ringtone…

Leave a Reply

